Focus Period 3: Adaptation and Learning in Autonomous Systems (April 6–30)

Concepts of adaptation and learning have been addressed by several research communities. Adaptive control dates back to the 1950s, but the most active theory development was in the 1970-80s. More recently, many new industrial applications of adaptive control have become feasible. A parallel development of theory has taken place in the community of machine learning, with roots in computer science and artificial intelligence. Also in game-theory and economics, there is active research on learning algorithms. In the third focus period, we will focus on adaptation and learning relevant for autonomous systems, such as unmanned vehicles. This limits the scope, but still leaves room for cross-disciplinary interaction and inspiration from industry.

Workshop on Adaptation and Learning in Autonomous Systems (April 21–23)

The workshop will be held at the Old Bishop's Palace. On Tuesday April 20 at 5-7pm there is a wecoming reception at the Pufendorf Institute at Biskopsgatan 3 in Lund (map). A revised workshop program was created due to air traffic restrictions.

Original workshop speaker list:
  • Tarek Abdelzaher, U of I at Urbana-Champaign
  • Kalle Åstöm, Lund University
  • Karl Johan Åström, Lund University
  • Antonio Bicchi, Università di Pisa
  • Carlos Canudas de Wit, Grenoble
  • Rafaello D'Andrea, ETH Zürich
  • Marika di Benedetto, University of L'Aquila
  • Magnus Egerstedt, Georgia Tech
  • Alexander Fradkov, Russian Academy of Sciences
  • John Hauser, University of Colorado at Boulder
  • Naira Hovakimyan, University of Illinois
  • Karl H Johansson, KTH Stockholm
  • Rolf Johansson, Lund University
  • Lennart Ljung, Linköping University
  • Shie Mannor, Technion, Haifa
  • Alexander Megretski, MIT
  • Sanjoy Mitter, MIT
  • Giuseppe Notarstefano, University of Lecce
  • Carl Rasmussen, Cambridge University
  • Shankar Sastry, UC Berkeley
  • Nahum Shimkin, Technion, Haifa
  • Anton Shiriaev, Umeå University
  • Jean-Jacques Slotine, MIT
  • Alexander J. Smola, Australian National University
  • Claire Tomlin, UC Berkeley
  • Lena Valavani, MIT
  • Dag Wedelin, Chalmers
  • Sandro Zampieri, University of Padova
Dates for visiting researchers in the period April 6 - 30, 2010