The purpose of this focus period five week focus period (October 8 to November 9) is to gather outstanding researchers with complementing competences in learning, control, robotics and neuroscience to stimulate exchange of ideas and inspire new research directions. The focus period will include a workshop with approximately 22 distinguished speakers, to be held in Lund, October 24-26, 2018.


Confirmed speakers

Francesca Cacucci, UCL, Great Britain
Marie Csete, Caltech, USA
Ondrej Chum, Czech Technical University, Czech Republic
Mathew Diamond, International School for Advanced Studies, Italy
John Doyle, Caltech, USA
Auke Ijspeert, EPFL, Switzerland
Henrik Jörntell, Lund University, Sweden
Hedvig Kjellström Sidenbladh, KTH, Sweden
Per Petersson, Lund University, Sweden
Ben Recht, UC Berkeley, USA
Angela Schoelling, University of Toronto, Canada
Terrence Sejnowski, Salk Institute for Biological Studies, USA
Patrick van der Smagt, Technical University of Munich and Volkswagen Group, Germany
Rodolphe Sepulchre, University of Cambridge, UK
Stefano Soatto, UCLA, USA
Csaba Szevesvari, University of Alberta, USA
Paul Verschure, University Pompeu Fabra, Spain
René Vidal, Johns Hopkins University, USA
C I de Zeeuw, Netherlands Institute for Neuroscience, The Netherlands
Thomas Schön, Uppsala University, Sweden
Jean-Jacques Slotine, MIT, USA
Il Hong Suh, Hanyang University, Korea
Karl Johan Åström, Lund University, Sweden

Confirmed visiting scholars

Roshan Shariff, University of Alberta, Canada
Ali Ghadirzadeh, KTH, Sweden
Joel Sjöbom, Lund University, Sweden
Maximilian Karl, Technical University of Munich, Germany
Anahita Jamshidnejad, ETH Zürich, Switzerland
Miriam Zacksenhouse, Technion, Israel
Farnaz Adib Yaghmaie, Nanyang Technologial University, Singapore
Ehsan Nekouei, KTH, Sweden
Ekin Basalp, ETH Zürich, Switzerland
Zhongqi Sun, Beijing Institute of Technology, China
Jack Umenberger, Uppsala University, Sweden
Yu Kawano, University of Groningen, The Netherlands
Thiago Marinho, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, USA
Adrianna R. Loback, Cambridge University, UK
Shreya Saxena, Columbia University, USA
Alberto Padoan, Cambridge University, UK
Felix Kong, Sydney University, Australia
Eike Petersen, Lubeck University, Germany

Organizing committee

Anders Rantzer, director of LCCC, Automatic Control, Lund University
Rolf Johansson, Automatic Control, Lund University
Karl Åström, Mathematics, Lund University

Scientific advisory committee

Il Hong Suh, Hanyang University, Korea
John Doyle, Caltech, USA
Ben Recht, UC Berkeley, USA
Paul Verschure, University Pompeu Fabra, Spain